Public Consultation

Ongoing engagement, listening and adaption has been key to formulating this proposal.

That's why, with a foundation of 78% support from 1000 local households tele-surveyed in 2009 and an even stronger result from 2,200 opt-in respondents conducted in early 2013, MWCC has been keen to collaboratively explore the possibilities. (Phase 1)

Since establishment in late 2012, MWCC has been meeting with community groups to gauge sentiment, gather creative ideas and listen to any concerns (Phase 2). We did this ahead of preparing our formal proposal and continue to do so. Since the launch of our Preliminary Proposal on the 16th April 2014, (Phase 3) we've been very excited by the sheer scale of support we've received, and listened to some poignant feedback as we've worked to resolve planning issues. We've collated thousands of community responses which play an integral part in steering our architectural design brief.

The most noticeable changes we've made based on community feedback since 2014 is:

  1.  The relocation of our base terminal car-parking, to minimise impact on surrounding residential amenity, as well as
  2.  A complete redesign of the aerial tramway cabins from double-decker to single-deck configuration, which significantly reduces the Section 2 tower design.

Now, as we enter the planning system to gain approval (phase 4) we'll be rolling out design detail for further and final public feedback.


Our next general information evening is designed for our closest neighbours, the residents of South Hobart, to discuss aspects of the project in person and hear any new concerns and ideas. Please feel free to register your interest by email here or clicking the 'register here' button.

UPDATE: Due to unforeseen circumstances, MWCC wish to advise that the meeting scheduled on Monday, 5th February for the South Hobart Primary School has been postponed, with new dates to be advised soon. Due to this delay, current work-in-progress pertaining to design detail should be ready to present and added to the event agenda!



  • Tasmanian Aboriginal Historical Services
  • Tasmanian Aboriginal Reconciliation Council
  • Fern Tree Community Association
  • South Hobart Progress Association
  • Rotary Club of Hobart
  • Probus Club of North Hobart
  • Midcity Seniors Club
  • Skal Club of Hobart
  • Downhill Mountain Bike Clubs:   Dirt Devils / Hobart Trail Alliance
  • 'Respect the Mountain' / Tasmanian Conservation Trust (public forums)
  • Tasmanian Transport Museum / Association
  • Hobart Light Rail/Northern Suburbs Action Group
  • Tasmanian Hang-gliding and Paragliding Association
  • Snowboarding enthusiasts
  • General Public - traditional media and social media
  • Various Schools


  • Ecotourism Australia
  • Cruise Australia [formerly Cruise Down Under]
  • Carlton United Breweries
  • Environment Tasmania
  • Tasmanian Hospitality Association
  • Destination Southern Tasmania
  • Tourism Industry Council of Tasmania
  • Hobart Chamber of Commerce
  • Tasmanian Chamber of Commerce & Industry
  • Tasmanian Motorcycle Council
  • Housing Industry Association
  • University of Tasmania School of Entrepreneurship
  • Various Cycling/Mountain Bike Retailers
  • RACT
  • Under Down Under Tours (Mt Wellington Descent operator)
  • Experience Tasmania
  • Apple Isle Wine Tours
  • Ten Days on the Island
  • Female Factory (managed by Port Arthur Historic Site Management Authority)
  • MONA
  • Sorell Business Council
  • Switch Tasmania
  • Tasmanian Leaders Program


  • Federal Major Projects Approval Agency
  • Wellington Park Management Trust
  • Hobart City Council & individual Aldermen
  • Glenorchy City Council & individual Councillors
  • Broadcast Australia (owner of the transmission tower 'stick')
  • Tourism Tasmania
  • Tourism Australia
  • Department of State Growth [formerly DEDTA / Department of Economic Development]
  • Department of Primary Industry, Parks, Water & Environment / DPIPWE
  • TasWater [formerly Southern Water]
  • TasNetworks [formerly Transend]
  • Invest Tas
  • AusIndustry
  • Tasmanian Heritage Council
  • Tasmanian Planning Commission
  • [former] Office of Sustainable Transport, Nick McKim


  • Premier of Tasmania & Minister for Tourism, Sports & Recreation & Aboriginal Affairs Hon. Will Hodgman MP
  • Minister for Parks & Environment, State Growth & Energy, Matthew Groom MP
  • Office of the State Treasurer Peter Gutwein MP
  • Office of the Minister for Small Business Adam Brooks MP
  • State Labor Shadow Cabinet
  • State Leader of the Greens Cassy O'Connor
  • Federal Member for Denison, Andrew Wilkie MHR
  • Federal Member for Lyons Eric Hutchinson MHR
  • [former] Federal Minister for Tourism, Senator Richard Colbeck
  • [former] Planning Minister & Deputy Premier, Bryan Green
  • [former] Economic Development Minister, David O'Byrne MP
  • [former] Tourism Minister, Scott Bacon MP
  • [former] Environment, Water & Heritage Minister Brian Wightman MP
  • [former] Shadow Tourism Minister & Leader of the State Opposition, Will Hodgman MP
  • [former] Shadow Sustainable Transport Minister, Matthew Groom MP
  • [former] Shadow Planning Minister, Elise Archer MP
  • [former] Shadow Minister for Small Business, Adam Brooks MP

Would you like your local group to hear from us? Organise a presentation today!